top of page
  • Writer's pictureEnjoying Film

Batman: Mask of the Phantasm



Rest In Peace Kevin Conroy. An icon in the comic book world and the definitive voice of Batman. I wouldn’t feel right doing another review right now, so in honor of Kevin Conroy I will be reviewing one of the best Batman movies and from what I have heard, one of Conroy’s favorite adaptations he did. Before I get into the review I want to speak on the effect Conroy had on me. I didn’t really know about him until I think about 3ish years ago until I played the Arkham games. Instantly those became my favorite games of all time. Yesterday I even went back to Arkham Knight and got a new high score on the Endless Knight mode because I felt like I needed to do something to show my appreciation for Conroy. I may not have known about him before my playthrough of those games, but that does not mean he didn’t affect my life before that. Growing up and even to this day Batman is my favorite superhero, so naturally I have consumed a lot of Batman media. Between The Animated Series, Batman: Assault on Arkham, even his appearance in Batwoman, Kevin Conroy has been in my life longer than I even knew. I mean he probably has the most iconic line in Batman history, “I am vengeance, I am the night, I am Batman!” I do believe that every person put on this world has a purpose. Kevin found his, and it wasn’t to just be the voice of Batman, it was to inspire a generation of fans who loved this character and deserved a fantastic representation of the character. Speaking of representation, I can’t even begin to imagine what he did for the LGBTQ+ community. One of the most important things in life I believe is representation because it can uplift someone to truly believe they can do whatever it is they want to do. As a white man I’ve never had a lack of this, but for any other race or sexuality or gender it is harder to come by. So to have the Batman come out had to have been so inspiring and I truly hope that somebody saw what Conroy did and believes they can do the same. I mean you want to talk about breaking stereotypes, the man had the deepest voice and was voicing probably one of the straightest and “machoest” characters in fiction, while being gay. We all know what the stereotype of a gay man is and that is not it. Now, I just want to tell Kevin Conry thank you. Thank you for everything you did. Thank you for loving and cherishing this character so much. Thank you for being the best voice of Batman anybody could have asked for. Thank you for bringing my favorite superhero to the screen and staying true to the character. Thank you for breaking boundaries. Thank you for being one of the biggest names in comic book history. Thank you.


Honestly, as for the review I just don’t even feel right about doing a normal one, so here goes a short review. I loved this movie. As a consumer of pretty much all things Batman ever since I could remember I was very pleased when I found new characters that I had never even heard of before in Andrea (Dana Delaney) and the Phantasm. I legitimately don’t want to give anything away because I think the mystery is so good and should definitely be watched without spoilers. The only scene I want to comment on and then I’m done is when Bruce is lying in front of his parents’ graves pleading with them that he doesn’t want to be Batman anymore. “I never planned on being happy.” This is one of the most perfect Batman quotes ever. It’s the misunderstanding of his parents’ wishes that leads to Bruce becoming Batman. Bruce hadn’t just become Batman because of how his parents were killed. He became Batman because all he saw and heard about was how selfless and charitable his parents were and where that landed them. What Bruce missed is that they are and always will be his parents first. Gotham was important to the Waynes, but not for a single second do I think they would want their son to be miserable and be Batman over being happy.

10/10☆


10/10😁


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page